Kick-Ass 2 looks…insane?

vlcsnap-2013-03-13-16h55m47s124

“Call me McLovin one more time!”

Not gonna lie, I was a little put-off by the first Kick-Ass. I don’t dislike it, but I find the love it got to be a bit exaggerated. It started off with a realistic take on “what if some dork actually tried to fight crime?” (spoiler: he almost dies immediately), but then it became a blood-splattered cartoon for the rest of the movie. Also, as talented as Chloe Moretz is, a little girl dropping c-bombs felt like a very transparent attempt at “shock value.”*

According to the new Red Band trailer for Kick-Ass 2: Ball to the Wall (embed after the jump), it certainly looks to be earning that subtitle, right out of the gate. I can get down with that. On top of the always-great Moretz and Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Jim Carrey looks awesome in this. If they didn’t tell me it was him, I would have no idea. I think the last time I said that about a non-voiceover role was Heath Ledger in The Dark Knight. So take that for what you will. The sense of humor still looks thoroughly aimed at the adolescent crowd* (he said balls!!!HAHAHAHA!), but I just started making a costume for Comic-Con, so I’m not gonna throw any stones.

[Edit: the embed link was being uncooperative, so I’ll just put the link to the trailer here]
 

*This counts double for age 15. Walk into the nearest high-school and tell me that “c*ck-sucker” is more offensive than what you hear.

One response to “Kick-Ass 2 looks…insane?

  1. So excited for this

Leave a Reply

